Richard Sherman and Sportsmanship

Image

This past Sunday evening’s NFC Championship game yielded plenty of entertainment for those of us who enjoy watching the game.  Two excellent football teams battling it out for the chance to play in this year’s Super Bowl.  The game was full of outstanding highlight reel plays and lots of trash-talking and on-field scuffles.

The Seattle Seahawks’ Richard Sherman is without a doubt, one of the best cornerbacks in the game today, and made THE play of the game.  In the last seconds of the game, the 49’ers quarterback, Colin Kaepernick, threw up a long pass to the right side of the end zone in a last ditch effort to score a touchdown for the win.  It would have been the play of the game and, with the extra point kicked, would have almost certainly sealed the deal, sending the San Francisco 49’ers to New York for the Super Bowl.  Richard Sherman, being the elite cornerback that he is, read the play perfectly, and put himself in great position to defend the pass.  He deflected the ball to another player, who was able to make the grab for the interception and shutting the door on the 49’ers bid for the Big Show.

You may have heard about the post-game interview of Richard Sherman by Erin Andrews.  Here is a link to the clip of that interview.  It’s only a few seconds long, so if you haven’t seen it, go ahead and watch it.

http://www.cbssports.com/nfl/eye-on-football/24415819/erin-andrews-on-richard-sherman-interview-i-loved-it

Full of emotion and adrenaline, fueled by constant trash-talking between himself and 49’ers wide receiver Michael Crabtree, he was approached by Fox Sports sportscaster Erin Andrews.  He immediately went over a cliff, screaming at the top of his lungs, sounding like an insane psychopath, ranting about how he is the best corner in the game, and how Crabtree is a mediocre receiver at best, and implied that they should not even be on the same field together, they are in such different classes of players.

The facts and opinions of Crabtree’s abilities as a player do not matter here.  What is at issue with many people here is Sherman’s antics in that interview.

Where do you stand?  Is it ok, because, as Erin Andrews put it, as quoted in the link above “You expect these guys to play like maniacs and animals for 60 minutes,” Andrews said. “And then 90 seconds after he makes a career-defining, game-changing play I’m gonna be mad because he’s not giving me a cliché answer, ‘That’s what Seahawks football is all about and that’s what we came to do and we practice for those situations.’ No you don’t. That was awesome. That was so awesome. And I loved it.”  Many of his supporters are saying that it’s really not a big deal because of the adrenaline rush and hyped-up emotions.  Their reasoning behind this is that it’s so hard to control yourself after such a game.

Is it really?  How about Marques Colston’s post-game interview in this link?  Just watch the first few seconds, that’s all you need.  Go ahead, I’ll wait.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oIYNzM9O2JM

Need more proof?  Here’s Barry Sanders, Jr, son of THE Barry Sanders: (this is the best one!)  This one is only 34 seconds, so it’s quick.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3yjhug6bN_s

If you need more examples, they are out there, just Google it.  You can find  plenty of clips of players in post-game interviews, still on the field, minutes after the game is over, where they are not screaming like an insane crazed lunatic, disrespecting and trashing their opponents.

It’s really about sportsmanship.  Sportsmanship is not just being a good loser.  It’s also winning with grace, humility, and dignity.  Think of it this way:  Would you want your child acting as Sherman did in that post-game interview, or would you rather see your child exhibiting the gracious, humble attitude that Mr. Sanders did in the link above?

I know where I stand.

Professional athletes, upon accepting their contract to play a sport on a level with as big a stage as the NFL, Major League Baseball, or any other sport in similar standings, assume the responsibility of projecting the type of attitude that children should be able to look up to and admire.  Granted, it’s ultimately our responsibility as parents to guide our children in developing positive character traits, but like it or not, many children still look up to and idolize professional athletes as the type of people they want to become.  If they don’t want to take on that responsibility, they should not accept a contract to play professional sports.

I will acknowledge that Sherman did in fact, issue a personal apology to Crabtree and his own Seahawks teammates for his conduct during that interview.  Duly noted.  And as such, the debate is now really a moot point.  However, the attitudes of those supporting Sherman’s outrageous behavior, in my opinion, still need adjusting.  Those attitudes are only a small part of why our nation’s children, in general, act the way they do.

What do you think?  Justified and acceptable?  Or could he do better?  I would love to hear your thoughts.  Comment below, like and share my post, if you desire.  And don’t forget to subscribe and follow me!

Until next time, my friends, take care, love one another, and be nice.

6 thoughts on “Richard Sherman and Sportsmanship

  1. I, for one, am inclined to give him a pass. He wasn’t just post-game, as your other clips were, it was literally only seconds after the huge play dumped a major adrenaline load into his system, and you could practically see his brain fizzing with it. It only lasts a few minutes, but it’s pure wildness while it’s happening. Plus, it’s hard for the average person to imagine the emotions surging at the moment of the big-game win unless you’ve actually been there. I know I did something unexpected & embarrassing at the moment that the clock went to zero on our World Bowl win — no, I’m not going to tell you what I did! — I’m just saying that you can’t prepare for that intensity of emotion. Sherman was wacky, and a bit inappropriate, but 1000% real. So, he ran his mouth a bit, big deal. It’s not like he bit Erin Andrew’s head off or anything.

    (I know, it’s shocking, I disagreed with you, David. LOL)

    Like

    • LOL Kay… I do understand where you’re coming from, and having not played professional sports myself it would be correct to say that I do not have that perspective to speak from. So I guess I can’t truly understand that aspect of it. But I still believe what I do and I guess we can agree to disagree on this. Now we’ve been great friends for quite a while, my dear. What’s it gonna take for you to tell me what it was you did? C’mon man, you can swear me to secrecy lol! Or is it something I can find on YouTube? LOL :p

      Like

      • Oh not that big a deal, I guess. I dropped to my knees & burst into tears. Not just an artful tear trickling down my cheek, but full-throated sobs. I knew I looked like a mess, but it was completely overwhelming. Which I guess is my point, one is so overwhelmed by the moment that something has to slip before the gears strip. I sobbed, Sherman ranted. Same cause.

        Like

      • I see what you mean. After such a great accomplishment in reaching a very lofty goal, the whole experience must be overwhelming. I like your reaction much better though. But I WAS hoping for something a little more entertaining from you. LOL, just kidding.

        Like

Leave a comment